LibGuides: Standards: Home

IHS Engineering Workbench

Main Info
FAQ

Engineering Workbench

IHS Engineering Workbench standards

IHS provides most standards for LANL, such as ANSI and ISO; does not include IEEE. IHS's new Engineering Workbench interface uses LANL cryptocard login. Select filter "Show results for: My Subscriptions" to see only what is in our subscription for download.

IHS USERS: Remember to free up the service for another person: download/print the PDF, then Log Out.

For most collections, 1 person may access PDFs at a time, per the Library's subscription license.

Exception: ASME & NFPA have a 3-simultaneous user license.

Engineering Workbench

I get the message "Document license unavailable." What does this mean?

Someone at the Lab is currently viewing a standard from that collection. Try again later.

How do I use IHS Engineering Workbench?

Quick Start Guide (pdf) - more Help is available with the "?" in the Engineering Workbench header

Contact the Research Library at 7-5809 or library@lanl.gov

What if full-text is not available?

Standards can be purchased from the IHS Markit Standards Store with a credit card.

How do I install FileOpen (needed for AWS, NBBI, etc.)?

AWS uses digital rights management (DRM). This requires a free Adobe Acrobat plug-in that "locks" the PDF file to the computer on which it was first opened. If you have admin rights on your computer, Click here to download the plug-in. Once FileOpen is working, you can view the file. Then use Shift + Ctrl + S to save the PDF to your drive (versus the usual hover- pointer-near-bottom-of-cover-page to bring up toolbar with floppy disk icon).

COVID-19 Standards

AAMI Offers Free Standards and Resources to Help Fight Coronavirus
The following AAMI documents (PPE standards) are now available for free download: ANSI/AAMI PB70:2012; AAMI TIR11:2005/(R)2015; TIR68:2018.
ANSI Launches Portal for Freely Available ISO Standards
ANSI is "providing access to key international standards supporting biological evaluation of medical devices; protective clothing used in health care settings; and business continuity management, security, and resilience".
ASTM Standards & COVID-19
As of 3/26/2020, ASTM "is providing no-cost public access to important ASTM standards used in the production and testing of personal protective equipment". Registration for ASTM's Reading Room is required, but it is free.
European standards for medical supplies made freely available to facilitate increase of production
The European Committee has made standards for PPE and medical supplies freely available to all.

Codes, Standards, and Specifications

Finding Standards

Department of Energy Acquisition Regulations (DEAR)
Department of Energy Directives
Includes Orders (DOE O), Policies (DOE P), Notices (DOE N), Manuals (DOE M), and Guides (DOE G).
Department of Energy Technical Standards Program
From the Office of Nuclear Safety (AU-30).
govinfo
Includes Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Federal Register, and other government publications. Formerly Federal Digital System (FDsys).
Los Alamos Engineering Standards
Weapon Quality Policy (PDF)
The purpose of this document, NAP 401.1, Weapon Quality Policy, is to identify the quality requirements applicable to weapon activities of the NNSA Federal personnel, contractors and subcontractors.

ASSIST Quicksearch
Searchable database of DoD specifications and standards.

Need to allow security certificate to use

BCPM
Key comparison database of national calibration and measurement standards.
EverySpec
Free downloads of government and military standards, specifications, handbooks, and documents.
FM Global
Loss prevention data aheets (registration required) and approval standards.
IBR Standards Portal
Standards "incorporated by reference" into U.S. Government Regulations, freely available in read-only format from ANSI. Requires FileOpen plug-in.

IEEE Xplore
Has full-text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics
IHS Engineering Workbench
Access to full-text codes and commercial industry standards from the following organizations: ACI, ANS, ASCE, ASHRAE, ASME with Boiler & Pressure Vessel Code, ASQ, ASSE, ASTM, AWS, ICC (I-codes), ISA, ISO Quality, NEMA, NFPA, SMACNA, and UL, and some others. (Previously called IHS Standards Expert)

ANSI Webstore

Document Center, Inc.
Search Document Center's online database of US and international standards, place orders for documents, learn about the standards industry.
IHS Markit Standards Store
IHS Markit is your source for US and international engineering and technical standards, specifications, codes, and training materials in hardcopy or PDF download.

Global Engineering: (800) 854-7179

Information Handling Services: (800) 447-3352

For more information on ordering standards or accessing standards services subscribed to by LANL, contact your library engineering liaison, or the Research Library directly. This service is for LANL employees and contractors only.

IEEE Videos for LANL Employees

IEEE Xplore is a website LANL employees can use to access full-text standards from IEEE as well as articles, conference proceedings, ebooks, and more. IEEE has created a series of videos to walk lab employees through using IEEE Xplore and the various resources available.