LibGuides: Love Data Week 2022: Home

Love Data Week

“Love Data Week is the international celebration of data” - Love Data Week

Love Data Week 2022 Programming

The LANL Research Library is joining other research libraries and institutions to celebrate Love Data Week 2022, this February 14-18, 2022, an international week-long offering of presentations and workshops focused on data access, management, security, sharing, and preservation.

This year’s theme is “Data is for Everyone.”

Monday, 2/14
Blog post: Call to Action – How to Love Your Data by Hannah Hamalainen

Tuesday, 2/15 11am

Wednesday, 2/16 11am
Open Data Workshop

What is open data? What does it mean to use, produce, and share data openly? We would like to invite you to attend an Open Data Workshop that will discuss the basic history of open data and the continued importance of improving the quality of and access to data, issues of data management and will focus on finding open data repositories.

Join Librarians Elizabeth Moyer and Hannah Hamalainen online for an introduction to open data as part of the Library’s programming for International Love Data Week.

Thursday, 2/17 10 am *note new time and date*

Dr. Lauren Gardner: Tracking COVID-19 in Real-time: Lessons Learned and Challenges Faced. Co-sponsored by ISTI/SRO-RL.

ISTI and the LANL Research Library invite you to attend a talk by Dr. Lauren Gardner, creator of the JHU interactive web-based dashboard known around the world, the COVID-19 Dashboard by the Center for Systems Science and Engineering (CSSE) being used by public health authorities, researchers, media, and the general public to track information regarding the outbreak of the novel coronavirus. Gardner will give a brief overview of the evolution of the dashboard, discuss some of the challenges her team faced along the way, and suggest some methods by which disease tracking could be done better in the future. She will also discuss how her team has used the data to build outbreak prediction models and improve our general understanding of COVID-19 spreading risk. For more information & WebEx link for this talk, please visit the ISTI website.

For more information about Gardner and the COVID-19 dashboard, see the Research Library's Tracking Covid-19 & Gardner Bibliography.

Thursday, 2/17 11am
Data: Was it Love at First Sight?

More than half of American adults believe in love at first sight. Whether your love is for data or for something more traditional, join us for a light-hearted (see what we did there?) look at what data in ICPSR's collection can tell us about love. We will explore data about the love we have for each other (friendship, sexual, romantic, familial), for our pets and hobbies, even for selected foods. The goal of the session is to have a bit of fun while exploring the breadth of data available through ICPSR. NOTE: preregistration required

Blog post: Accessibility in Data by Sarah Hayes

Friday, 2/18 11am
Love at First Cite: Publishing data on the Figshare platform to increase your work’s impact and reuse

Please join the Research Library with Andrew McKenna-Foster from Figshare during Love Data Week. Figshare is a leading repository platform that offers researchers a free place to make research outputs, from data to supplementary material, available in a citable, shareable, and discoverable manner. This is important because sharing data is becoming the default expectation for researchers, especially those funded by large funding agencies and who publish in peer reviewed journals. Using Figshare to share data, rather than a personal website or not at all, ensures that researchers can be properly credited and cited when their data is reused. This presentation will give an overview of important components for FAIR (https://www.go-fair.org/, Findable, Accessible, Interoperable, and Reusable) data sharing. Using examples from Figshare, it will cover how you can use the platform to publish your research outputs using a free account or opt for Figshare+ paid services for large files and curation assistance.

Have any data specific questions or need an in-depth data consultation?

Research Data Services provides consultations on your current data practices and research needs. Use the request form below for assistance and we will connect you to the help you need. Consultations generally occur over webex or email, depending on your availability.

Open data is data that can be freely used, re-used and redistributed by anyone - subject only, at most, to the requirement to attribute and sharealike. - Open Data Handbook

U.S Open Data Toolkit
The U.S. Open Data Toolkit is designed to help federal data providers and data users better understand and harness the strategic value of open government data.
EU Open Data Portal
The European Union Open Data Portal (EU ODP) provides access to an expanding range of data from the European Union (EU) institutions and other EU bodies. You can use and reuse these data for commercial or non-commercial purposes.
FORCE 11 Fair Data Principles
One of the grand challenges of data-intensive science is to facilitate knowledge discovery by assisting humans and machines in their discovery of, access to, integration and analysis of, task-appropriate scientific data and their associated algorithms and workflows. Here, we describe FAIR - a set of guiding principles to make data Findable, Accessible, Interoperable, and Reusable.
Open Data Commons
Legal Tools for Open Data

Metadata is embedded in data files or stored in separate, easy to identify files. Start documenting metadata at the beginning of your project and continue throughout to save time and avoid losing information.

Types of information to document in metadata:

Project Documentation
- Sources
- Data collection methods
- Integrity and quality assurance
- Transformations of data
- Information on confidentiality, access, and use
- Publications
Dataset Documentation
- File format and software used
- Versioning
- Variable names and descriptions
- Explanation of codes and classification schemes used
- Algorithms use to transform data, including computer code used
File Directory Documentation
- Structure and organization of files
- File naming standardization
- How files are related to each other

Metadata Standards

DOE Code
The Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) developed a new DOE software services platform and search tool for DOE-funded code – DOE CODE. DOE CODE provides functionality for collaboration, archiving, and discovery of scientific and business software. DOE CODE replaces OSTI’s old software center, the Energy Science and Technology Software Center (ESTSC).
Datacite
DataCite is a leading global non-profit organisation that provides persistent identifiers (DOIs) for research data and other research outputs. Organizations within the research community join DataCite as members to be able to assign DOIs to all their research outputs. This way, their outputs become discoverable and associated metadata is made available to the community.
DataOne
ataONE is a community driven project providing access to data across multiple member repositories, supporting enhanced search and discovery of Earth and environmental data.
The Dataverse Project
Dataverse is an open source web application to share, preserve, cite, explore, and analyze research data. It facilitates making data available to others, and allows you to replicate others' work more easily. Researchers, journals, data authors, publishers, data distributors, and affiliated institutions all receive academic credit and web visibility.
Dryad Digital Repository
The Dryad Digital Repository is a curated resource that makes research data discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of data types.
Figshare
Figshare allows users to upload any file format to be previewed in the browser so that any research output, from posters and presentations to datasets and code, can be disseminated in a way that the current scholarly publishing model does not allow
Github
GitHub is a development platform inspired by the way you work. From open source to business, you can host and review code, manage projects, and build software alongside 40 million developers.

Research Data Alliance
The Research Data Alliance (RDA) was launched as a community-driven initiative in 2013 by the European Commission, the United States Government's National Science Foundation and National Institute of Standards and Technology, and the Australian Government’s Department of Innovation with the goal of building the social and technical infrastructure to enable open sharing and re-use of data.
Open Knowledge Foundation
Open Knowledge Foundation is a global non-profit organisation focused on realising open data’s value to society by helping civil society groups access and use data to take action on social problems.
The Open Science Framework
OSF is a free and open source project management tool that supports researchers throughout their entire project lifecycle.

As a collaboration tool, OSF helps research teams work on projects privately or make the entire project publicly accessible for broad dissemination. As a workflow system, OSF enables connections to the many products researchers already use, streamlining their process and increasing efficiency.

Love Data Week 2022

LANL Data Management Resources

Data Software

Datasets

DataDose

Love Data Week

Types of information to document in metadata:

Metadata Standards