Skip to main content

Engineering

Resources in the field of engineering, including handbooks, standards, reports, and top journals.

COVID-19 Standards and Resources for Engineers

Standards:

Resources for Engineers:

Databases

Resources

  • ASM Handbooks Online
    • This collectin features the complete content of thirty ASM Handbook volumes, several ASM Handbook supplements, and two ASM Desk Editions.
  • CRCnetBASE (now Taylor and Francis Group)
    • Since 1999, this eBook collection has grown to include over 2,310 cutting-edge and bestselling references, with access to the latest handbooks in civil, mechanical, and electrical engineering.

  • IEEE Xplore Digital Library
    • Delivering full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in engineering and technology. See the "IEEE Videos for LANL Employees" box on this page for video tutorials on using IEEE Xplore.
  • Knovel
    • Knovel’s offerings include three key elements – validated content, optimized search, and data analysis tools. The library is focused on the engineering community, offering more than 30 subject areas featuring guidance and best practice information on a wide range of topics including material selection and tolerances, environmental impacts, safety and compliance
  • Web of Science
    • Federated search of high impact journals across the engineering spectrum (chemical, electrical, systems, and mechanical).
  • Scopus
    • Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
  • ProQuest SciTech Collection
    • The SciTech Collection combines a number of specialized natural science, technology, and engineering databases into one economical package combining full-text access with comprehensive discovery through extensive abstracts managed by expert editorial teams.
  • CINDAS
  • SpringerMaterials
    • Critically assessed physical and chemical data from the classic Landolt-Bornstein series (and additional databases).

  • IHS Standards
    • IHS Standards is an online tool, enabling the search and organization of standards documents and reference materials from more than 370, IHS-catalogued, standards developing organizations (SDO).
  • IEEE Engineering Standards
    • IEEE provides a wide range of quality publications and standards that make the exchange of technical knowledge and information possible among technology professionals.
  • EverySpec
    • EverySpec provides free access to over 50,000 Military, DoD, Federal, NASA, DOE, and Government specifications, standards, handbooks, and publications. This data warehouse includes standardization documents with the designations of MIL, MIL-STD, MIL-PRF, MIL-DTL, FED, CID, JANS, MS, AND, USAF, DID, CID, UCF, and FIPS, including their Amendments, Notices, and Supplements.
  • Drawing Requirements Manual (10th Edition)
    • For the preparation of engineering drawings for commercial products including access to military requirements that are in excess of commercial applications. The 11th Edition is available at IHS.
  • LANL Engineering Standards
    • Includes Engineering Standards Manual, Master Specifications Index, Drafting Manual, Design Guides, and more.

A comprehensive list of all standards available at LANL can be accessed here.

For more information about standards, see our standards resource guide.

  • WolframAlpha Engineering
    • Wolfram|Alpha introduces a fundamentally new way to get knowledge and answers—not by searching the web, but by doing dynamic computations based on a vast collection of built-in data, algorithms, and methods.
  • Building Green
    • Resource for green building products, environmental building news, and LEED documentation.
  • American Association of Engineering Societies (AAES) Engineering Competency Model
    • The Employment and Training Administration (ETA) has worked with the American Association of Engineering Societies (AAES) and other technical and subject matter experts from education, government, business, and industry, to develop a comprehensive competency model for Engineering. The model is designed as a resource that provides a lifelong learning template of the core competencies and skills necessary for entry into the engineering profession as well as for maintaining proficiency during one's career. AAES is comprised of many member organizations and it is through these working groups and other SMEs that the competency model was developed. They provided critical input on the profession's skill requirements and will continue to work with the model's industry champions to ensure that the model evolves to accommodate changing skill requirements.

For more information about data management, see our data management page. See also our citation and reference manager research guide.

These resources will help you prepare for the DOE-endorsed AEE Certified Energy Manager Program, recognized under the Better Buildings Workforce Guidelines. Access to these titles require a LANL crypto-card login.

Branches of Engineering

IEEE Videos for LANL Employees

IEEE Xplore is a website LANL employees can use to access full-text articles, conference proceedings, ebooks, and standards. IEEE has created a series of videos to walk lab employees through using IEEE Xplore and the various resources available.

Recent Los Alamos Engineering Publications

Loading ...
Loading ...

News & Notes

IEEE Spectrum

Loading ...

Phys.org - Engineering

Loading ...

Popular Mechanics

Loading ...

Wired Magazine

Loading ...
Managed by Triad National Security, LLC for the US Department of Energy's NNSA. Copyright Triad National Security, LLC. All Rights Reserved.