Primo searches hundreds of millions of scholarly resources with a single search, including the Library Catalog and outside resources, with and without subscription access. Includes links to full text, and access to library account for Lab staff.
Indexes scientific and technical documents written by Los Alamos staff, from 1943 to the present. Includes journal articles, technical reports, conference papers and presentations, abstracts, books, book chapters, patents and audiovisual materials. Includes links to full text when available. Restricted to LANL staff.
Contains LANL documents required for compliance with environmental regulations and permits, and other documents that deal with environmental issues. Coverage: mostly 2007 to present; some documents back to 1989. Environmental cleanup documents from May 2018-present are in a separate interface managed by EM-LA.
LDRD Connexion is a tool that allows searching of funded LDRD (Laboratory Directed Research and Development) projects at Los Alamos National Laboratory. Includes project descriptions, proposals and reports. Restricted to LANL staff.
This database combines specialized natural science, technology, and engineering databases into one package. More than 80 million abstracting and index records, with controlled-vocabulary terms. Sources covered include journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and more than 12 million indexed tables and figures. More than 4,200 full-text journals. Coverage dates: 1962-present.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources. Subject coverage : Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering ; Life and Health Sciences ; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics ; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books.Powerful tools allow you to search and see what articles in the database have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
ORCID is a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from other researchers. It is integrated with key research workflows such as grant submission and automatically links you to your professional activities and scholarly publications.
Visit ORCID @ LANL to create an account and quickly link your LANL publications to your profile.
RASSTI (Review & Approval System for Scientific and Technical Information), is an electronic submission system which assigns:
- LA-UR numbers to unclassified, unrestricted documents intended for public release
- LA-CP numbers to controlled unclassified documents (CUI)
1. To access books, journals, scholarly databases and standards remotely while you work from home:
Open your web browser of choice (Firefox is the preferred browser for LANL).
Go to the external Research Library website.
Click on the "Offsite Lab Employee" button on the right hand side of the library homepage.
Use the Library Search box to look for resources and access them via the offsite proxy.
2. To access RASSTI, Los Alamos Authors, and LDRD Connexion from off site while you work from home:
Go to portal.lanl.gov
Use your Z number and cryptocard to log in.
From the Portal menu, choose Research Library, then navigate to the website you want to access.
You can also go directly to those pages and cryptocard in using the below links:
Los Alamos Authors Database
Ebook Central: For e-books available through Ebook Central, you will need to download Adobe Digital Editions in order to read them. If you have remote desktop access from off-site, you can read EBC books this way. Email the Research Library if this is not a possibility for you.
Working offsite? Log into Remote Access to authenticate and access library subscribed content.