LibGuides: Library Resources for Teleworking/WFH: Home

Temporary Resources

Note: These resources will only be available for a period of time during the COVID-19 pandemic. Users should not expect constant access to these resources.

Cambridge Core has a collection of COVID-19 resources and information, including free access to book chapters and journal articles.

Wiley is offering a variety of resources, including: free online access to over 5,000 journal articles, book chapters, and reference entries; a live aggregate of COVID-19 news and research; special collections on COVID-19 related topics; historical perspectives on epidemics (ex: Europe in 1817; Sydney in 1895); Wiley Connections, an online customer community; the Wiley Online Library training hub.

AIP Publishing | COVID-19
A collection of research articles relevant to infectious diseases, epidemics, computational epidemiology, and pandemics, freely available from AIP.
Biochemical Society suspending paywalls on all published content
Portland Press is suspending paywalls on all content published across the Biochemical Society’s seven journals until further notice.
CAS Releases Open Access Dataset of Antiviral Chemical Compounds to Aid COVID-19 Discovery and Analysis
CAS has released an open access dataset of chemical compounds with known or potential antiviral activity to support research, data mining and analytics applications.
COVID-19 Related Research Now Free to Access in IEEE Xplore
IEEE is making COVID-19 research freely available "for the duration of the global health crisis".
Dimensions is facilitating access to COVID-19 research
All of Dimensions' COVID-19 related published articles, preprints, datasets and clinical trials, freely available in one file.
Ex Libris: List of COVID-19 and Temporarily Free Resources
A list of COVID-19 and temporarily free resources, provided by the company Ex Libris.
JoVE | Coronavirus Resource Center
JoVE has made its coronavirus focused videos freely available.
MIT Press COVID-19 titles
A selection of titles on pandemics, epidemiology, and related topics freely available for the foreseeable future.
MUSE in Focus: Contextualizing Pandemic
"A small sampling of temporarily free scholarship from Project MUSE publishers on the broad topic of pandemic and its effects throughout history, in culture, and on humanity as a whole."

Off-Site Access

1. To access books, journals, scholarly databases and standards from off site while you work from home:

Open your web browser of choice (Firefox is the preferred browser for LANL).
Go to the external Research Library website.
Click on the "Offsite Lab Employee" button on the right hand side of the library homepage.
Use the Library Search box to look for resources and access them via the offsite proxy.

2. To access RASSTI, Los Alamos Authors, and LDRD Connexion from off site while you work from home:

Go to portal.lanl.gov
Use your Z number and cryptocard to log in.
From the Portal menu, choose Research Library, then navigate to the website you want to access.
You can also go directly to those pages and cryptocard in using the below links:

Ebook Central: For e-books available through Ebook Central, you will need to download Adobe Digital Editions in order to read them. If you have remote desktop access from off-site, you can read EBC books this way. Email the Research Library if this is not a possibility for you.

For access issues that are not resolved by the above processes, please contact the Research Library staff directly.

Remote Access Brochure
Find information on remote access services and how to access our digital resources.

Openly Available Resources

Read pre-prints of early access research and upcoming journal articles. Below are pre-print repositories, all Open Access.

AgriXiv (agriculture/allied sciences)
arXiv (physics, math, computer science, etc.)
bioRxiv (biology)
CERN Document Server (particle physics)
ChemRxiv (chemistry)
EarthArXiv (earth sciences)
ECSarXiv (electrochemistry & solid state science/technology)
engrXiv (engineering)
ESSOAr (earth and space science)
MarXiv (ocean and marine climate sciences)
medRxiv (health sciences)
TechRxiv (electrical engineering and computer science)
viXra (science and math)

For a collection of Open Access journals, see the Directory of Open Access Journals. There is also Paperity, the "first multidisciplinary aggregator of [OA] journals and papers".

CAS/American Chemistry Society has released a slew of resources, including a protein target thesaurus, articles on targeting ACE2, insights on new vaccines and treatments, and current research and development on therapeutic agents and vaccines, and tools to aid researchers in fighting COVID-19.

JSTOR: Viewing Subject: Public Health
A list of journals made available through JSTOR in the subject area of public health. Note: LANL employees may not have access to all materials in every listed journal.
Rockefeller University Press journals
Includes: Journal of Cell Biology (JCB), Journal of Experimental Medicine (JEM), and Journal of General Physiology (JGP).

A-Z Databases is a searchable list of all the databases the Research Library actively subscribes to.

The major databases available through the Research Library are:

Primo This link opens in a new window
ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window
SciFinder This link opens in a new window

Need to register to use

ProQuest currently includes the Coronavirus Research Database‎, a "free health and medical research database for openly available content related to the COVID-19 outbreak" made available during the pandemic.

There is a listing of Open Access databases, with an emphasis on science and technology.

The Open Scholarship Knowledge Base is a place to find "open scholarship resources created and curated by the community", created by the Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education.

Databases to find government/technical reports:

Catalog of U.S. government publications This link opens in a new window
Congressional Record This link opens in a new window
DOE Directives This link opens in a new window
govinfo This link opens in a new window
Los Alamos Research Online (LARO) This link opens in a new window
OpenNet This link opens in a new window
OSTI.gov This link opens in a new window
TRAIL (Technical Report and Image Library) This link opens in a new window

Hathi Trust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A partnership of more than sixty major research institutions with Google, the Hathi Trust Digital Library includes all the book images from these libraries that have been digitized by Google. Only out-of-copyright images (generally pre-1923) can be displayed, or others where the permission of the copyright holder has been obtained, though both in-copyright and out-of-copyright materials can be searched. Out-of-copyright books can be downloaded by Northwestern users who register with the site.

Library of Congress | OA Books
Library of Congress' collection of freely accessible Open Access books.
MIT Press - OA Books
MIT Press' collection of open access books.
Project Gutenberg
A collection of digitized books whose copyright has expired or whose creators have granted permission for unlimited non-commercial worldwide use.
Science e-books | NASA
A collection of e-books released by NASA.
Wikibooks
An open-context textbooks collection, including textbooks on STEM subjects.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive catalog of library holdings, providing search of most major research collections in the U.S. as well as some foreign libraries.

AAMI Offers Free Standards and Resources to Help Fight Coronavirus
The following AAMI documents (PPE standards) are now available for free download: ANSI/AAMI PB70:2012; AAMI TIR11:2005/(R)2015; TIR68:2018.
ANSI Launches Portal for Freely Available ISO Standards
ANSI is "providing access to key international standards supporting biological evaluation of medical devices; protective clothing used in health care settings; and business continuity management, security, and resilience".
ASTM Standards & COVID-19
As of 3/26/2020, ASTM "is providing no-cost public access to important ASTM standards used in the production and testing of personal protective equipment". Registration for ASTM's Reading Room is required, but it is free.
European standards for medical supplies made freely available to facilitate increase of production
The European Committee has made standards for PPE and medical supplies freely available to all.

The Carpentries
The Carpentries is a global community teaching foundational computational and data science skills to researchers in academia, industry and government.
Codeacademy
An online interactive platform that offers free coding classes in over a dozen different programming languages and markup languages.
Coursera
A learning platform for massive open online courses (MOOC), specializations, and degrees.
edX
A MOOC platform for university-level courses across a wide spectrum of disciplines.
freeCodeCamp
An interactive learning web platform that teaches web development skills.
Institute of Physics Webinars
Includes talks by physicists and online events and conferences led by IOP's Special Interest Groups.
Khan Academy
A non-profit educational organization with short video lessons.
LinkedIn Learning
LinkedIn Learning is an individualized, self-paced and online professional development program with thousands of relevant courses delivered by industry experts.
Udemy
100,000 online video courses with new additions published every month.

LANL Telework Hub
Access restricted to LANL employees. Contains lab resources on teleworking, including preparing for telework off-site, computer assistance, and collaboration and teleconferencing tools.
NNSA Human Performance program suggests teleworking guidance | Department of Energy
An NNSA human performance program initiative provides eight recommendations for remote workers that can help them maintain productivity and wellness in these challenging times.
Occupational Health Teleworking and Self Care Resources
Teleworking and wellbeing resources from LANL's Occupational Health's Employee Wellbeing page.
Telework.gov
A telework information and resource hub, run by the U.S. Office of Personnel Management.
Telework | Department of Energy
This Department of Energy page includes guidance on administering telework within the Department for Federal employees; however, each Departmental element has its own implementation procedures so employees should contact their respective Telework Coordinator to get the applicable forms and information on local procedures.

Available Library Resources

Our online resources, including databases, e-journals, standards, and librarian curated research guides
Books from the Research Library can be checked out at our self check-out machine in the building lobby.
On-site request fulfillment (e.g. report scanning, book requests, etc.) will be done by librarians on a weekly basis; work is currently staggered to enforce current social distancing rules.

Note: there will be no in-person library reference services starting March 16, 2020. Books returned to the Research Library during this period will be checked in on a weekly basis.

For COVID-19 specific resources, please see our COVID-19 research guide.

COVID-19 Hub | LANL
External LANL website with resources and information on current COVID-19 protocols for subcontractors, guests, and visitors

Library Instruction Sessions

LANL employees: You can now schedule a remote instructional session with a librarian from LANL’s Research Library. The meeting will take place on Webex and can involve as many people as you want to attend the session. The session can cover anything from a general overview of library resources to more specific resources and tools, such as Los Alamos Authors, RASSTI, or creating an ORCiD profile.

If you are interested in setting up a library instruction session, request training here.

Newsletter Registration

To subscribe to the Research Library's newsletter and get library blog posts delivered to your inbox:

Go to Register.lanl.gov (LANL employees only)
Click on 'Mailing Lists' on the left hand menu
Under 'Mailing Lists' click on 'Subscribe to a list'
Enter the mailing list you are interested in subscribing to:
1. For monthly emails: rl-monthly-newsletter
2. For weekly emails: rl-weekly-newsletter

You can see current library blog posts at the main RL news index page.

Library Resources for Teleworking/WFH